top of page
  • Writer's pictureLay Siong

Houdini Vines Growth - 04

Updates on my progress.

Image 01

Currently, This is my result. I working on it with a low scattering point to see how it goes.


Brief my ideas building on this:

  1. User paint on the area where vines grow.

  2. Scatter point - random select starting point and grow

  3. Use Scatter point Data I will create 3 different types of vines onto the mesh.

  4. (Short & Thick, Long & Thin, Normal.)

  5. After getting all the connections, using Wrangle/Ray to push point that is overlapping? -

  6. Priority - Short - Long will overlap it- Normal will overlap others.

  7. Poly Wire

  8. From 6, getting the line data to copy to point for the leaf to around the vines.


The problem I face:

  1. Trying to make it more organic and getting the thickness of the stem right where the endpoints should be thinner. (i get an idea on how to fix it but could not get it to work, go to Image 3)

  2. From the picture, the vines are evenly distributed which I believe it could be solved in scatter point node later on.

  3. Vines Overlapping.

Breakdown on my project.

Image 02

Test object -> Remesh - > User get to paint over it. Using that data, it will generate the starting point where the vines will be growing.


Going down.

Image 03

Here got a problem, In the solver, I have tried to give the infected pts a value of 1 (Spreadramp). I wanted as it is checking the neighbour pts while infecting them, this value of 1(Spreadramp) will be divided by a number. (Maybe 2). So while it is spreading, Spreadramp will give those infected points, values of 1,0.5,0.25,0.125,...... and continues. Using this data, I could fit it into a ramp where it can give me a gradient of the vines which I could use it to control the thickness of the vines on the later part. (Usually it is a single vine, I can use UVtexture to get 0.1 to 1 value on the line itself. For the way, I am currently doing my vines, I could not use the UV texture trick on it.)



Image 04

.There is the of current progress. The small box at the bottom is the part where i trying to kind of overlap the vines on each other. It is still WIP.


Image 05

My plan on thing I will be working on after fixing the stuff above.


So... do drop me comments, if you guy need the folder, I will drop a link into the WhatApps group so you guy can take a look.

bottom of page